Another post about stuff. Specifically: aging.

“I am not here to amuse you.”

“Yes you are here to amuse me!”

No, five year old niece, I am not.
Being an adult is hard.

My birthday is in a couple weeks. I want to do something spectacularly wonderful, as I am going to hit what I consider to be one of the best ages ever, twenty-four.

It’s such a beautiful number of years to be.

Plus twenty-four is the age so many spectacular people were when I met them.

Anyway, for random totally illogical reasons, I am really looking forward to being twenty-four, my only issue is the fact that, I don’t know how I’m going to make it special.

Plus, my body feels more like I’m fifty. Or sixty. I can tell because that’s how old my parents are, and they randomly complain about aches and pains, and thanks to my bone disease, previous surgery, and physical therapy, I pretty much always have some sort of ache or pain.

I’m ancient.
BUT I”M GONNA BE TWENTY-FOUR!

So I want to do twenty-four year old stuff.

I wish the person I didn’t spend the most time with outside my parents and brother wasn’t my five year old niece. Okay, that’s not true. I love her. Did you read her come back to my comment up there? What’s not to love?

Anyway, then maybe I could chill with people my own age.

Maybe I just need to stop having expectations.

My birthday last year was full of expectations, and I was miserable up to the point where I wound up playing mini-golf with my cousin, her boyfriend, and the guy I had a giant crush on at the time. Then it was suddenly the best birthday of my life.

Now that guy has a girlfriend (and they belong together, I mean, I cannot question the relationship that is built on a friendship of four years, I just can’t, they are just too happy and wonderful. HE WROTE HER A SONG, SERIOUSLY), and my cousin and her boyfriend are engaged and…I could totally hang out with them, but it might be depressing.

Not that the happiness of my entire birthday is contingent on whether or not I feel like I am doomed to be alone for the rest of my life, but not feeling that way on your birthday sometimes helps.

Aye.

I should put lower requirements on that day.

24th Birthday Goals:

1. To wake up.

There we go.

Also.

2. To be thankful for another day.

…Okay, I guess I’m done.

4 Comments

Filed under Cdukulele's life.

4 responses to “Another post about stuff. Specifically: aging.

  1. OOOOHHH.HAPPY BIRTHDAYYYY.
    In advance. :)))

    • Thank you very much! It’s almost here. The current plans involve a belated birthday party for my nephew…But I also just got a bunch of free clothes from one of my sisters, so that’s like an early birthday present…and…Spring break will have started by my birthday. This aging business is certainly exciting.

      • CLOTHES.Clothes are always awesome.Hahahahaha,to me,each new year feels the same.

        • Yep. Oh my years…I think I’m learning stuff as time passes, I hope. It’s like a process where I don’t conceive how my life can be improved or changed, and then everything gets tumbled down and I have to figure out how to be the best version of myself in the changed circumstances. Before college it was easier, now putting the pieces together seems more difficult.

Thoughts, comments, opinions, ideas?

