Love song problems

Okay, so, is there any way to sing a love song in the presence of someone you already told you had a crush on, without them thinking the song is about them?

Without right out saying “THIS SONG IS NOT ABOUT YOU”, or something like that?

I’m not going to lie and state that it’s not about them, because it kind of is, I mean, they inspired it, but I don’t want them to know that. I don’t want to be the creepy person who sings love songs to the person they have a crush on, when they’re trying to act like they don’t have a crush on them, and not add any pressure.

I mean, I’ve already had a guy do that to me, and it was creepy.

I wouldn’t even be singing this song in front of my crush in the first place, but he goes to the same open mic night as me, and I really like the song, and everyone I’ve played it for so far likes it. I have to play it.

But John can’t know.

Maybe he won’t be there.

Maybe.

 

HELP ME! Advice? What do you think? Can I play a love song written about a guy in the audience, without creeping him out?

I mean, it’s not a creepy song it’s just “You make me happy, blah blah blah, life is wonderful, all because of you, blah blah blah.”

It’s NOT CREEPY! It’s not. Really. Unless he hears it and thinks that I’m trying to make him like me. Then it’s creepy. Otherwise, it’s a cute little love song, like the dozen others I’ve written. Except now the person I’m singing about will actually be there.

What should I do?

PLEASE COMMENT and advise. Even if it’s horrible advice. Tell me something!

 

Thanks,

– Cdukulele

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Cdukulele's love life.

8 responses to “Love song problems

  1. May I ask what the lyrics are? How detailed are they? Also, my gut reaction is don’t let some silly guy force you to compromise your creativity.

    • They’re not thaaaat detailed. Seriously, they’re so vague I could just be singing about any friend of mine, if I didn’t mention the word “Romance”. I APPROVE OF YOUR GUT REACTION! You are encouraging me. Thank you. Also, I’m not putting the specific lyrics down because I don’t want to find them and I haven’t memorized it by heart, but it’s super generic. No names or specific memories or anything. πŸ™‚

  2. do it! if he thinks it’s creepy then he’s not the one for you!

Thoughts, comments, opinions, ideas?

