Overthinking

OKAOKOKAOKAOKAY

So many emotions and I don’t know what to say.

Firstly, cute guy who said hi to me last week has a sister. I didn’t know that when he affectionately kissed her on the face. Apparently some families are much more affectionate than mine. My heart kind of broke when he kissed her. It was just a little, hello kiss, a very tiny non-consequential one, but I’ve been monitoring his interactions with women recently, and it made my heart crush a little to see him kiss a girl.
Luckily for me, his sister was talking to me at the time. For when you play a song about neurosurgery on your ukulele, and people really like it, they come up to you and tell you that. So she was complimenting me, along with another lady, and we were chatting away about music and I was wishing that her brother would talk to me, and then he appeared! I was very happy. THEN HE KISSED HER ON THE FACE. As I said before, my heart was crushed a little.

Then that wonderful woman he had kissed said to us, “Do you like my brother?” Oh that beautiful multi-layered question almost ensnared me. Joy at hearing the word “brother” overtook me, and I was almost confused to the point of saying “YES. Is he single?” Luckily, my brain kicked in, and so did my natural survival instincts, so I simply said “Yes, he has an amazing voice.”

I’m still wondering if he told her to come over and talk to me and find out what I thought of him…because that’s something I would have a sibling do for me. She was so smiley and nice and happy and wonderful….and then she asked if we liked her brother. That’s very interesting phrasing, isn’t it? Just a tad suspicious? I mean, why not say “Did you like my brother?” I mean, come on, past tense it lady! Why would you ask in the present tense unless you were trying to find out whether I was currently in love with your brother!??

Seriously. It’s a plot. Which means that he secretly likes me. And someday he will come up to me and tell me that. And I will be happy.

He really liked my music at least. Not that I was watching him while I sang or anything…Or to be fair, I was watching the entire room, and I just happened to especially notice whenever he laughed or smiled or applauded during my song. I liked seeing him smile. So happy and joyous. Plus everyone else that I looked at was smiling too. Now I’m starting to feel creepy like I shouldn’t have monitored the audience’s reactions so much…BUT I HAD TO.

Another guy came up to me in the last ten minutes before the coffee shop was closed and started telling me about how I should look up the open mic nights for comedians, and play my ukulele and sing my song or songs like the first song I performed. Unfortunately I only have one funny song about neurosurgery. Then he asked if I had a facebook page. I don’t know what he meant. “Like a page where I could listen to samples of your other songs?” Ha. That. Technology. No, I do not have that. But I gave him the impression that I did or would, and so now I have to go figure out if I can make a page and then invite him, because he gave me his facebook info. I’m thinking of calling it “cdukulele’s music” but I’ll probably just use my real name. Oh well.

So yeah, tonight was really fun…and apparently I’m good at songs and comedy.

– cdukulele

Leave a comment

Filed under Various writing

Thoughts, comments, opinions, ideas?

